First Aid qualifications monitoring

Wednesday 30 May 2018

Qualifications Wales has completed an exercise to monitor the First Aid qualifications available through regulated awarding bodies in Wales.

The exercise forms part of our ongoing monitoring programme of vocational qualifications which is set out in our Vocational Qualifications strategy. We focussed on the following qualifications:

  • Level 2 Award in Emergency First Aid at Work (EFAW);
  • Level 3 Award in First Aid at Work (FAW);
  • Level 3 Award in Emergency Paediatric First Aid (EPFA); and
  • Level 3 Award in Paediatric First Aid (PFA).

The qualifications assess the practical skills and knowledge that a competent first aider needs to demonstrate to be able to administer first aid effectively and safely.

Our report can be read in full here.